Asset 2Asset 5Asset 6Asset 3Asset 2 1Asset 4
Main Content

Mary Couts Burnett Library

TCU is further strengthening and reinvigorating an already exceptional private education by transforming our campus into The Academy of Tomorrow, with a new Intellectual Commons at its center. A technologically advanced, media-rich repurposed Mary Couts Burnett Library is at the forefront of this effort. A new library addition will integrate with Rees-Jones Hall (under construction) to encourage collaboration and the generation of ideas.

The Mary Couts Burnett Library takes its name from an extraordinary gift given to TCU in 1923. As the widow of Burk Burnett, Mary Couts Burnett's generous gift made possible the first library building on the TCU campus. Expanded in 1958 and 1983, the library continues to be the academic center of TCU's campus. Now open 24 hours a day, 6 days a week, it houses more than 1.9 million books, CDs, DVDs, videos, and nearly 75,000 current journals, electronically and in paper. Highly popular with TCU students is the Information Commons, a fully equipped computer lab, and the Bistro Burnett.

TCU students, faculty and staff have electronic access to more than 300 specialized databases and thousands of electronic books and electronic journals any time, night or day. Particular collections include Texas, United States and European community documents; the Archives of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition; the papers of former Speaker of the House, James C. Wright, Jr.; the papers of Amon G. Carter, Sr.; the University's historical collection; and special collections of rare books and manuscripts such as the William Luther Lewis Collection of English and American Literature.

Your support of the library will help us purchase the data and advanced-technology resources needed to support the diverse suite of skill and literacies required of the students of The Academy of Tomorrow.

Contact Us to learn how you can support the Mary Couts Burnett Library and its priorities.

Adam Baggs
Assistant Vice Chancellor