Asset 2Asset 5Asset 6Asset 3Asset 2 1Asset 4
Main Content

Clark Society Scholars

 We are pleased to introduce the Clark Society Scholars for the 2020-2021 academic year. First awarded in 1999, the scholarship has now supported 87 students who represent TCU with the highest degree of character and leadership. This highly-competitive merit scholarship rewards students for their academic excellence and involvement during their time at TCU and encourages them to stay engaged with TCU after graduation. 

Because of your support, this year the endowed fund is awarding five scholarships of $12,500 -- the most funding ever awarded in a single year. Please join us in welcoming the 2020-2021 Clark Society Endowed Scholars. 


2020-2021 Scholars

Clark Scholar: Joe Boyce Joe Boyce is a double major in political science and finance with a real estate concentration. He is very active in the TCU community having served as director of marketing and communication for the TCU Connections Program and as executive director of Frog Camp. He has also served as a driver for the TCU Food Recovery Network and volunteered at KinderFrogs School at TCU. Additionally, Joe is the founder and president of TCU Links, which connects TCU students with the Fort Worth retirement community to partner and plan activities. He is currently an intern with JLM Capital.
Shelby Enman, a social work major, serves on the TCU Student Foundation and is president of the Student Association for Social Work and a member of the Student Government Association and the John V. Roach Honors College. As a study-abroad participant, Shelby worked on examining various forms of gender inequality in Canada and Iceland. She was selected as one of two social work majors to represent the TCU Department of Social Work in Rwanda, where she worked with the founder of the organization, Solidarity for the Development of Widows and Orphans to Promote Self-Sufficiency and Livelihoods.  Clark Scholar: Shelby Enman
Clark Scholar: Emily Hoffer Emily Hoffer is a biology and chemistry double major and part of the TCU Pre-Health Professions Institute. Emily is actively laying the groundwork for her future in the medical profession. Working with Professor Kayla Green’s research group targeting diseases, including Alzheimer’s and cancer, she has already completed three, projects which will garner her co-authorship on separate publications. Emily is a member of the TCU Chemistry Club, a STEM Scholar private tutor and organic chemistry tutor, Frogs First leader and resident assistant. She also volunteers at Cook Children’s Hospital and is a member of the John V. Roach Honors College.
Jaehyun Lee is a biology major hoping to fulfill her dream of becoming a doctor. She is currently a resident assistant and Orientation Leader for new students on campus, providing a level of maturity beyond her years, according to one of her two nominators, Kay Higgins, Ph.D. associate dean of Student Development. Jane is also a biology lab teaching assistant, vice president of the Global Health Fellowship and a member of the John V. Roach Honors College. She has served as a Frogs First leader and was scheduled to be a Frog Camp facilitator in the summer of 2020. She is the scholarship director for Kappa Alpha Theta and a regular volunteer at KinderFrogs School at TCU. Clark Scholar: Jane Lee
Clark Scholar: Kataryna Lewyckyj Kataryna Lewyckyj is a political science and news and media double major and member of the John V. Roach Honors College. Kataryna’s service at TCU includes working as a resident assistant and serving as a Student Government Association member, a Frog Camp facilitator, a Student Foundation member and a Chancellor’s Leadership Program member. She was the Director of It’s On Us, a sexual violence prevention campaign. She has been the lead research assistant for political science professor Dr. Adam Schiffer. This work was interrupted for a semester as she participated in an internship at the U.S. Supreme Court. 
In the 21 years of awarding this scholarship, we have seen many students who, though not eligible for additional scholarship support, have exhibited the qualities of leadership, scholastic achievement, character and service that all our Clark Scholars embody. This year for the first time two students have been awarded the distinction of Clark Society Scholar. Please join us in congratulating these talented and exceptional students. 
Katie Kelton is an English major and member of the John V. Roach Honors College. Katie has been an intern with TCU Magazine, D Magazine and Oxford University Press in New York. While studying abroad in Florence, she taught English to elementary students and served as a tour guide at Catedral de Santa Maria del Fiore and Iglesia de San Lorenze. In Seville, Spain, as an assistant teacher she taught English twice a week to a class of fourth graders.  She currently works with the Study Abroad office to create a student-run travel blog called “Frogs Abroad” and will serve as its Editor-in-Chief. She has also been a participant in TCU’s Model United Nations in Washington, D.C. Clark Scholar: Katie Kelton
Clark Scholar: Linh Tran Linh Tran has studied relationship development, conflict resolution, intercultural communication and presentation skills as part of her double majors in psychology and communication studies. She is a memeber of the John V. Roach Honors College. Linh serves as a Sexual Assault Victim Advocate with the Women’s Center of Tarrant County and has interned in their Rape Crisis and Victims Services Department. After graduation, Linh plans to pursue a post-graduate degree in counseling to become a licensed professional counselor.